Black and white heart cake

Black&White~SCL

This was a birthday cake for a married couple who have the same birth date. Since they’re married, I thought they  needed something with hearts. And since it was for two people, I thought of black and white. And since it was for a small family dinner, only the top tier is cake.  It was three 8 inch layers of white cake with buttercream icing. The bottom tier is a 12 inch cake dummy

Black&White2~SCL

A few days before the cake was needed I started with the dummy. I covered the dummy with Glad Press and Seal before covering it with fondant. The Press and Seal sticks to itself very well so I’m able to pull it and tug it and get it smooth and flat on the dummy. Once it’s encased in the wrap, I got busy with the fondant.

I’ve said it before, I’m saying it now, and I’ll say it again in the future…Buy premade black fondant. Don’t make it yourself! It takes too much gel coloring to get it dark enough; it takes too much work; it gets too sticky. Just don’t do that to yourself. Buy it! I started by rolling out a half circle of black fondant and draping it over the left half of the dummy. I ran a thin bead of piping gel around the bottom, sides, and top of the dummy, being very careful to stay on just the black half. Then I trimmed off the overhang off the bottom and cut away the excess fondant that went past the halfway point of the dummy.

Black&White3~SCL

Then on to the white fondant. I rolled out the same half circle as before but cut a clean, straight edge to match up to the black half circle already on the dummy. I ran a bead of piping gel up the sides and across the top of the dummy then laid the white fondant up to the black and matched them up. It was a bit harder than usual to get the fondant neatly around the sides but it was possible. Once I had it smooth, I ran a bead of piping gel along the bottom to attach the fondant to the dummy.

I made the heart on top a few days before the cake was needed. I rolled out the fondant to half an inch thick and a bit wider than half the heart. I used a cookie cutter to get the side shape and then cut a straight line down the middle. I repeated the process for the other side, then pasted them together using some vanilla extract as the glue. (I find painting a bit of vanilla extract on fondant glues it together quicker than using water.) I set it aside to dry and harden.

Black&White4~SCL

The day before I needed the cake, I baked the layers and set them aside to cool completely. The next day, I split the layers and iced them. I covered them in fondant using the same technique as covering the dummy. I set the covered cake on the dummy, matching the color halves, then added the heart, again matching the color lines. Easy, easy.

What I left out of the explanation at the beginning was that the cake was for my son and his wife, so my lumpy fondant wasn’t as horrible a showing as if it were for someone outside the family. Family can be so forgiving of lumps and bumps when they get to eat cake!

I'd love to hear what you think.

